Sexton To Lead Leinster

The head coach of Leinster Leo Cullen has announced his team who will take on Connacht in their first GUINNESS PRO14 fixture of 2018 on Monday at the RDS. The match will kick-off at 3.15pm.

For the match more than 16,000 tickets have been sold so far. This is the second interprovincial fixture of Leinster of the festive period. People who want the last remaining tickets for the match can purchase it at Leinster Rugby i.e. the Leo Cullen has retained just two players from the side that was in Munster on St. Stephen’s Day.

In the team Rob Kearney comes in at full-back along with Fergus. James Lowe, the New Zealander, who is retained on the left wing who made his first appearance at the RDS and won his third Leinster cap at all.

Garry Ringrose and Noel Reid are paired together in the center with Captain Jonathan Sexton and Luke McGrath, who has completed the protocols of return-to-play, is reunited as the starting halfbacks of the province.

The Up front, Peter Dooley makes his season’s first start at loose head prop alongside Sean Cronin, the former Connacht hooker and Andrew Porter. Ian Nagle and Ross Molony will team up in the second row.

In the team Dan Leavy is the only back rower retained considering his performance of man-of-the-match at Thomond Park, with Josh Van Der Flier. The 21-year-old Max Deegan is completing the starting line-up and he is set for his first senior interprovincial appearance.

LEINSTER (v Connacht): Rob Kearney; Garry Ringrose, Fergus McFadden, Noel Reid, Jonathan Sexton (Capt), James Lowe; Luke McGrath; Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Andrew Porter, Ian Nagle, Ross Molony, Dan Leavy, Max Deegan and Josh Van Der Flier.

Replacements:  Ed Byrne, Bryan Byrne, Michael Bent, Scott Fardy, Mick Kearney, Nick McCarthy, Rory O’Loughlin and Cathal Marsh.

Leave a Reply